2023-2024 Undergraduate Bulletin

Selecting a Degree Program

The University of Denver awards eleven distinct baccalaureate degrees.  The curriculum for each program varies based on the major discipline and ancillary courses taken. 

BA  and BS Degrees

The BA (Bachelor of Arts) degree is the principal undergraduate degree in the arts, humanities and social sciences and is awarded in most natural sciences as well.  The BS (Bachelor of Science) degree is awarded in most natural science disciplines and Psychology. 

The BA degree assures students of a breadth of study in the liberal arts and offers greater flexibility in study.  For example, no more than sixty credit hours may be taken from any one department and students may declare majors in numerous disciplines.  The BA degree requires 183 credits, a major (40-60 quarter hours), a minor (20-28 quarter hours) or second major as well as completion of the Common Curriculum.

The BS (Bachelor of Science) degree provides greater focus on the major field of study and related (cognate) subjects.  The BS degree requires 183 credits.  The major requires at least 45 credits, at least 25 of which must be 2000- and 3000-level courses.  The BS degree requires two minors, as well as completion of the Common Curriculum.  One minor must be in one of the following disciplines: Astrophysics, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science, Electrical Engineering, Environmental Science, Geography, Geographic Information Science, Geology, Human Health Science & Systems, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Medical Physics, Physics, and Psychology. Students who double major in BS programs can use the second major in place of one of the listed minors.

Academically, a Bachelor of Arts degree and a Bachelor of Science degree are equally valued.  Both the BA and the BS degrees prepare students for graduate study.

Specialized Degrees

Specialized undergraduate degrees are offered in specific disciplines, most often in fields with distinct accreditation.  Specialized undergraduate degrees at the University of Denver are:

BFA Bachelor of Fine Arts

BM Bachelor of Music

BSAcc Bachelor of Science in Accounting

BSBA Bachelor of Science in Business Administration

BSCh Bachelor of Science in Chemistry

BSCpE Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering

BSEE Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering

BSME Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Back to Top