2022-2023 Undergraduate Bulletin

Student Complaint State Contacts

This list below includes contact information for all 50 states, the District of Columbia and US territories and should not be construed as informative of what agencies regulate the institution or in what states the institution is licensed or required to be licensed. States, through the relevant agencies or Attorneys General Offices, may accept complaints regardless of whether the institution is required to be licensed in that state.

Alabama

Ron Leonard
Director of Special Initiatives
Alabama Commission on Higher Education
100 North Union Street
Montgomery, AL 36104
334.242.2211
ron.leonard@ache.edu


State Website: http://ache.edu/AlaPortal.aspx

Alaska

Tyler Eggen
Institutional Authorization Program Coordinator
Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education
P.O. Box 110505
Juneau, AK 99811-0505
907.465.6741
Tyler.Eggen@alaska.gov


State website: https://acpesecure.alaska.gov/

Arizona

Lanna Dueck
Executive Director
Arizona SARA Council
2323 W. 14th St.
Tempe, AZ 85281
480.517.8226 
ldueck.azsara@riosalado.edu


State website: http://azsara.arizona.edu/

Arkansas

Alana Boles
Program Director for Private Career and Out-of-State Education
Arkansas Department of Higher Education
423 Main St., Suite 400
Little Rock, AR 72201
501.371.2060
alana.boles@adhe.edu


State Website: http://www.adhe.edu/institutions/academic-affairs/sara/

Colorado

Heather Delange
Director - Office of Private Postsecondary Education
Department of Higher Education
1600 Broadway, Suite 2200
Denver, CO 80202
303.862.3005
heather.delange@dhe.state.co.us

Connecticut

Sean Seepersad, PhD
Division Director of Academic Affairs
Office of Higher Education
State of Connecticut
450 Columbus Boulevard, Suite 707
Hartford, CT 06103-1841
860.947.1837
Sean.Seepersad@ct.gov
 

Emily Bjornberg
Senior Consultant
Office of Higher Education
State of Connecticut
450 Columbus Boulevard, Suite 707
Hartford, CT 06106
860.947.1824
Emily.Bjornberg@ct.gov

State Website: http://www.ctohe.org/SARA/Default.shtml

Delaware

Leigh Weldin     
College Success Program Administrator
Delaware Department of Education
401 Federal Street, Suite 2
Dover, DE 19901
302.735.4193 
 leigh.weldin@doe.k12.de.us

State Website: http://www.doe.k12.de.us/sara

District of Columbia

Angela H. Lee
Executive Director
Higher Education Licensure Commission
Postsecondary Education
Office of the State Superintendent of Education
1050 First St. NE, 5th Floor
Washington, D.C. 20002
202.724.2095
angela.lee@dc.gov

State Website: http://osse.dc.gov/service/state-authorization-reciprocity-agreement-sara

Florida

Brandy Lyon
Educational Policy Director
Commission for Independent Education
325 W. Gaines Street, Suite 1414
Tallahassee, FL 32399
Brandy.Lyon@fldoe.org
850-245-3200

Sonia Browning
Administrative Assistant II
Florida Department of Education
325 West Gaines Street, Room 1414
Tallahassee, Florida 32399
850.245.3210
sonia.browning@fldoe.org

State Website: https://www.fldoe.org/sara/

Georgia

Adam Hawk
GA-SARA Coordinator
Georgia Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission (GNPEC)
2082 East Exchange Place, Suite 220
Tucker, GA 30084
770.414.3310
adamh@gnpec.ga.gov

Patricia “Pat” Neri
Program Manager
Georgia Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission (GNPEC)
2082 East Exchange Place, Suite 220
Tucker, GA 30084
770.414.3235
GASARA@gnpec.ga.gov

State Website: https://gnpec.georgia.gov/state-authorization-reciprocity-agreement-sara

Hawaii

Jayson Horiuchi
Program Administrator
Hawaii Post-Secondary Education Authorization Program (HPEAP)
Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs
P.O. Box 541
Honolulu, HI 96809
808.586.7327
hpeap@dcca.hawaii.gov

State Website: http://cca.hawaii.gov/hpeap/sara/

Idaho

Tamara Baysinger
State Authorization Manager
Idaho State Board of Education
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0037
208.332.1587
mailto:tamara.baysinger@osbe.idaho.gov

Illinois

Nkechi Onwuameze, PhD
Assistant Director for Academic Affairs
Illinois SARA Coordinator
Illinois Board of Higher Education
1 N. Old State Capitol Plaza, Suite 333
Springfield, Illinois 62701-1377
217.557.7382
sara@ibhe.org

Indiana

Ross Miller
Director of State Authorization and Reciprocity
Indiana Commission for Higher Education/
Indiana Board for Proprietary Education
101 W. Ohio Street, Suite 300
Indianapolis, IN 46204-4206
317.232.1033
rmiller@che.in.gov

State Website: www.in.gov/bpe

Iowa

Lisa Pundt
Compliance Officer        
Iowa College Aid 
475 SW Fifth Street, Suite D
Des Moines, IA 50309-4608
515.725.3426 | fax: 515.725.3401
lisa.pundt@iowa.gov

Kansas

Jennifer Armour
Associate Director
Academic Affairs
Kansas Board of Regents
1000 SW Jackson, Suite 520
Topeka, KS 66612-1368
785.430.4288
jarmour@ksbor.org 

Kentucky

Sarah Levy
Executive Director of Postsecondary Licensing
Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education
1024 Capital Center Drive, Suite 320
Frankfort, KY 40601
502.573.1555
sarah.levy@ky.gov

Ms. Jevonda Keith
Director of State Authorization and Reciprocity
Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education
100 Airport Road, Third Floor
Frankfort, KY 40601                          

502.892.3031
jevonda.keith@ky.gov

State Website: http://cpe.ky.gov/campuses/sararequest.html

Louisiana

LeAnn Detillier
Assistant Commissioner for Program Administration
Louisiana Board of Regents
1201 N. Third Street, Suite 6-200
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
225.342.4253
leann.detillier@laregents.edu

State Website: http://www.regents.la.gov/subhome/institutional-licensure

Maine

Angel Loredo
Higher Education Specialist
Maine Department of Higher Education
23 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333-0023
207.624.6846
angel.loredo@maine.gov

Maryland

Bryson Barksdale
Online Education Analyst
Maryland Higher Education Commission
6 North Liberty Street, 10th Floor
Baltimore, Maryland 21201
410.767.3388
bryson.barksdale@maryland.gov

Karen King-Sheridan
Associate Director, Collegiate Affairs
Maryland Higher Education Commission
6 North Liberty Street, 10th Floor
Baltimore, Maryland 21201
410.767.3404
karen.king-sheridan@maryland.gov

State Website: http://mhec.maryland.gov/institutions_training/Pages/acadaff/sara.aspx

Massachusetts

Alexander A. Nally
Assistant General Counsel
Massachusetts Department of Higher Education
One Ashburton Place, Room 1401
Boston, MA 02108
617.994.6910
SARAInquiries@dhe.mass.edu

Tiamekia Johnson
Paralegal and Regulatory Affairs Specialist
Massachusetts Department of Higher Education
One Ashburton Pl, Rm 1401
Boston, MA 02108
617.994.6963
tjohnson@dhe.mass.edu

State website: SARA / Massachusetts Department of Higher Education

Michigan

James R. Farhat
Departmental Specialist
Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity
Employment & Training, Postsecondary Schools
201 N. Washington Square, 3rd Floor
Lansing, MI 48913
517.256.8670
farhatj@michigan.gov

State website: www.michigan.gov/pss

Minnesota

Betsy Talbot
Manager of Institutional Licensing and Registration
Minnesota Office of Higher Education
1450 Energy Park Drive, Suite 350
Saint Paul, MN 55108
651.259.3965
Betsy.Talbot@state.mn.us

Kate McCartan
Institutional Monitoring Specialist
Minnesota Office of Higher Education
1450 Energy Park Drive, Suite 350
Saint Paul, MN 55108
651.259.3912
kate.mccartan@state.mn.us

Mississippi

Menia Dykes
Director of Accreditation
Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning
3825 Ridgewood Road
Jackson, MS 39211
601.432.6372
mdykes@mississippi.edu

State Website: http://www.mississippi.edu/mcca/sara.asp

Missouri

Leroy Wade
Deputy Commissioner
Missouri Department of Higher Education and Workforce Development
205 Jefferson Street
P.O. Box 1469
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1469
573.751.2361
leroy.wade@dhewd.mo.gov

Montana

Joseph "Joe" Thiel
Director of Academic Policy and Research
Montana University System
P.O. Box 203201
Helena, MT 59620-3201
406.422.8455
jthiel@montana.edu

Nebraska

Kathleen L. Fimple, Ph.D.
Academic Programs Officer
Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education
P.O. Box 95005
Lincoln, NE 68509-5005
402.471.0030
Kathleen.Fimple@nebraska.gov

Nevada

Terina Caserto
Senior Analyst, Academic and Student Affairs
Nevada System of Higher Education
2601 Enterprise Road
Reno, NV 89512
775.784.3447
tcastero@nshe.nevada.edu

State Website: https://nshe.nevada.edu/administration/academics-student-affairs/sara/

New Hampshire

Whitney Vaillancourt
Administrator for Higher Education
New Hampshire Department of Education
101 Pleasant St
Concord, NH 03301
603.271.0257
whitney.vaillancourt@doe.nh.gov

Institution Inquires:
Laura A. Stoneking
Administrator
New Hampshire Bureau of Educator Preparation and Higher Education
Division of Educator Support and Higher Education 101 Pleasant Street
Concord, NH 03301-3494
603.271.4196
laura.a.stoneking@doe.nh.gov

New Jersey

Eric Taylor, Esq.
Director, Office of Licensure
New Jersey Office of the Secretary of Higher Education
20 W. State St., Floor 4
P.O. Box 542
Trenton, NJ 08625
609.984.3738
eric.taylor@oshe.nj.gov

New Mexico

Alicia Armijo
Constituent Services Coordinator,
New Mexico SARA Coordinator
New Mexico Higher Education Department
2044 Galisteo Street, Suite 4
Santa Fe, NM  87505-2100
505.476.8411
Alicia.Armijo@state.nm.us

New York

Emily Sutherland
Supervisor of Higher Education Programs
New York State Education Department
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12234
518.474.1551
IHEauthorize@nysed.gov

North Carolina

Terrence R. Scarborough, M.P.A.
Director of SARA North Carolina
North Carolina State Education Assistance Authority
P.O. Box 14103
Research Triangle Park, NC 27709
919.248.4660
terrence@saranc.org

State Website: www.saranc.org

North Dakota

Claire Gunwall
Director of Academic Affairs & Workforce Innovation
North Dakota University System
600 E Boulevard Ave, Dept 215
Bismarck, ND 58505-0230
701.328.4140
claire.gunwall@ndus.edu

Lisa Johnson
Vice Chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs
North Dakota University System
600 E Boulevard Ave, Dept 215
Bismarck, ND 58505-0230
701.328.4143
lisa.a.johnson@ndus.edu

Ohio

Matt Exline
Assistant Director of Program Approval Operations
Ohio Department of Higher Education
25 South Front Street
Columbus, OH  43215
614.728.3095
mexline@highered.ohio.gov

Oklahoma

Kyle Foster
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education
655 Research Parkway, Suite 200
P.O. Box 108850
Oklahoma City, OK 73101-8850
405.225.9163
kfoster@osrhe.edu

Elizabeth Walker
Staff Assistant III
Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education
655 Research Parkway, Suite 200
P.O. Box 108850
Oklahoma City, OK 73101-8850
405.225.9154
lwalker@osrhe.edu

State Website: http://www.okhighered.org/admin-fac/sara/

Oregon

Rebecca Fuller
Compliance Specialist
Oregon Higher Education Coordinating Commission
255 Capitol Street NE
Salem, OR 97310
503.947.5925
mailto:rebecca.fuller@hecc.oregon.gov

Pennsylvania

Gina Wetten
Higher Education Associate II
Pennsylvania Division of Higher and Career Education, Access, and Equity
333 Market Street 
Harrisburg, PA 17126
717.265.7723
giwetten@pa.gov

State Website: https://www.education.pa.gov/Postsecondary-Adult/CollegeCareer/Pages/State-Authorization-Reciprocity-Agreement-(SARA).aspx

Puerto Rico

David Baez
Acting Directory, Education Support Programs
Puerto Rico Council on Education
PO Box 19900
San Juan, PR 00919-1900
787.641.7100 ext. 2056
dbaez@estado.pr.gov

Rhode Island

Deanna Velletri
Specialist, Proprietary Schools
Rhode Island Office of the Postsecondary Commissioner
560 Jefferson Blvd.
Warwick, Rhode Island 02886-1304
401.736.1118
Deanna.velletri@riopc.edu

South Carolina

Argentini Anderson, Ph.D.
Assistant Director, Academic Affairs
South Carolina Commission on Higher Education (SC CHE)
1122 Lady St, Suite 400
Columbia, SC 29201
803.737.2276
aanderson@che.sc.gov

Stacey Price
Program Coordinator
South Carolina Commission on Higher Education
1122 Lady Street, Suite 300
Columbia, SC 29201
803.737.7781
sprice@che.sc.gov

South Dakota

Katie Hubbart
Academic Affairs Specialist
South Dakota SARA Coordinator
South Dakota Board of Regents
306 East Capitol Avenue, Suite 200
Pierre, SD 57501
605.773.3455
Katie.Hubbart@sdbor.edu

Tennessee

Julie Woodruff
Assistant Executive Director and Lead Attorney for DPSA
Tennessee Higher Education Commission
404 James Robertson Parkway, Suite 1900
Nashville, TN 37243
615.253.8857
julie.woodruff@tn.gov

Texas

Jessica Acton
Program Director, Academic Quality and Workforce
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
P.O. Box 12788
Austin, TX 78711
512.427.6214
jessica.acton@thecb.state.tx.us

State Website: http://www.thecb.state.tx.us/

U.S. Virgin Islands

Camille McKayle
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs 
University of the Virgin Islands 
#2 John Brewers Bay
St. Thomas, USVI  00802
340.693.1200
cmckayl@uvi.edu

Utah

Cynthia "Cyd" Grua
Office of the Commissioner for Higher Education
Utah System of Higher Education
Board of Regents Building, The Gateway
60 S 400 W
Salt Lake City, Utah  84111
801.321.7152
cgrua@ushe.edu

State Website: https://higheredutah.org/sara/

Vermont

Patricia Pallas Gray
Independent School Consultant
Vermont Agency of Education
1 National Life Drive, Davis 5th Floor
Montpelier, VT 05620
802.823.3991
pat.pallasgray@vermont.gov

Cassandra Ryan
Director of Regulatory Compliance
Vermont Agency of Education
1 National Life Drive, Davis 5th Floor
Montpelier, VT 05620
802.828.5535
cassandra.ryan@vermont.gov

Virginia

Darlene Derricott
Director of Academic Services
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia
101 N. 14th Street, 9th Floor
Richmond, VA 23219
804.225.2621
DarleneDerricott@schev.edu


State Website: https://www.schev.edu/index/institutional/state-authorization-reciprocity-agreements-(sara) 

Washington

Sam Loftin, J.D.
Director of Consumer Protection
Washington Student Achievement Council
P.O. Box 43430
Olympia, WA 98504-3430
360.753.7866
samL@wsac.wa.gov

West Virginia

Nikki Bryant
Compliance Officer for Authorization and Proprietary School Programs
West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission
1018 Kanawha Blvd. East, Suite 700
Charleston, WV 25301
681.313.2290
nikki.bryant@wvhepc.edu

State Website: http://www.wvhepc.edu/inside-the-commission/special-initiatives/state-authorization-reciprocity-agreement-sara/

Wisconsin

Paige Smith
Chief Compliance Officer
University of Wisconsin System Administration, Office of Compliance & Integrity
1220 Linden Drive, Room 1840
Madison, WI 53706
608.265.2273
psmith@uwsa.edu

State SARA Website: DLAB - Distance Learning Authorization Board (state.wi.us)

Wyoming

Rob Dennis
Chief Operating Officer
Wyoming Community College Commission
2300 Capitol Ave., 5th Floor, Suite B
Cheyenne, WY 82002
307.777.7013
mailto:rob.dennis@wyo.gov

State Website: https://communitycolleges.wy.edu/

Back to Top